Room Booking
The room booking function allows administrators to set up rooms that selected users can book. The room booking calendar within LeaveWizard displays them. You can also synchronise them with an external Outlook or Google Calendar.
Enable Room Booking
When you create a new company on LeaveWizard, the system disables the room booking function.

As an administrator, you can enable it in the room booking section of the company settings page, which will then allow all users to view the room booking calendar.

When you do this, room booking will appear in the Tools section of the main menu.

The Room Booking Schedule Calendar
When you initially enable room bookings, you will not have defined any rooms. So the first thing you will need to do is click ‘Manage Rooms’ on the sub-menu to create them (see below). Once you have done that, they will appear on the room booking schedule calendar.

Room
This setting allows you to select which room(s) you want displayed on the schedule calendar from a drop-down list. You can choose any individual room or all.
No Of Rooms / Page
This field allows you to select the maximum number of rooms that are displayed on each page of the schedule calendar. If it displays too many rooms, it can become crowded and you can use this setting to spread the rooms over multiple pages. It displays the current page number at the bottom left of the schedule calendar along with ‘Previous’ and ‘Next’ navigation links.
The Schedule Calendar
The schedule calendar allows you to manage the bookings / appointments for each room and has the following controls:
Period Selector / Navigator
This control has four buttons. The left arrow and right arrow buttons allow you to select the previous and next days (or weeks) respectively. A ‘today’ button lets you jump to today’s date. The down arrow button displays a calendar day picker. It shows the currently selected day (or week) on the right-hand side of the control.
Day / Week Display Toggle Buttons
These buttons allow you to toggle between just a day being displayed or an entire week being displayed.
Show 24 Hours / Show Business Hours
This button allows you to toggle between all 24 hours of each day being shown or just business hours.
Adding And Managing Bookings
You can select the booking / appointment time period by clicking on the beginning time and dragging the mouse to the end time on the schedule calendar. You can clear the selected period by pressing the ‘Esc’ key on the keyboard. If you click on the calendar again, it will also clear the current selection and start a new selection. In this example, we have selected the period 09:30 – 10:30 for Conference Room A.

Then double click the selected period to create a new appointment. You can also right click on the selected period to bring up a context menu and select the ‘New Appointment’ option. Enter the ‘Subject’ and ‘Details’ fields and select a ‘User’ from the drop-down menu.

Then either click ‘Insert’ to create the appointment or ‘Cancel’ to discard.

Once you have created an appointment, you can drag the box to change the appointment time.

You can also drag the top and bottom of the box to change the start and end times of the appointment.

If you want to edit the appointment, double click on it. You can also right click on the box to bring up a context menu and select the ‘Edit’ option.
If you want to delete the appointment, click the X on the top right-hand side of the box. You can also right click on the box to bring up a context menu and select the ‘Delete’ option.
If you need to book a room for more than a day, then use the ‘Week’ display setting on the ‘Day / Week’ display toggle, and select a period that extends over multiple days.
The Room Booking Sub Menu
Near the top of the page, just below the main menu, is the Room booking sub menu. Although you may allow managers and employees to book rooms, they cannot manage setting up how the room booking functions and will not get any menu options.

As an Administrator, two buttons ‘Manage Rooms’ and ‘Room Booking Groups’ are available.

Manage Rooms
Clicking this button will take you to the Rooms page, which displays a list of all the rooms and provides links to edit the rooms and functionality to manage room booking. Initially, you will not have defined any rooms:

In this example, we have created two rooms, Conference Room A and Conference Room B, using the ‘New Room’ button.

Enable Room Booking / Access Control
This group of controls allows you to keep room booking enabled or disable it and to choose which LeaveWizard role you will allow to perform room booking. A drop-down box allows you to select between Administrator, Line Manager and Employee. Click ‘Submit’ to update your settings.
New Room
Clicking this button allows you to create a new room on the Rooms Details page. Enter a name for the room in the ‘Name’ field and click ‘Submit’.

Room Booking Help
Clicking this button will take you to this help article.
Room List
This is a paginated list of all the rooms with an edit link on the left-hand side of each room / row. Clicking the link will take you to the Rooms Details page where you can edit the room name.
Room Booking Groups
Clicking this button will take you to the Room Booking User Groups page, which allows you to create room booking user groups. These groups hold lists of users that can create and manage room bookings. This is besides the role restriction set on the Manage Rooms page. If you have restricted room booking management only to administrators, you can also allow a group of line managers and employees by adding them to a group. In the example below, we will allow a single line manager to manage room booking besides the administrators.

If you have defined no groups, you can create a new group by clicking the ‘New Room Booking User Group’.

The ‘Room Booking User Group Details’ page has four sections. We will now examine each section and its associated settings to allow you to configure the Room Booking Group correctly from the page. As you will see, you can add all the members of a workgroup or individual users as required to create whatever user group you need.
Group Name
This is a required field which allows you to enter a name for the user group.
Workgroups
This section has two scrolling panes listing the workgroups and a vertical navigation bar between them. To add all the members of a workgroup to the group, select a workgroup in the left-hand pane and then click the right arrow to move it to the right-hand pane. Alternately, to remove a workgroup from the group, select a workgroup in the right-hand pane and move it to the left-hand pane by clicking the left arrow. Clicking the double left or double right arrow moves all the entries from one pane to the other. Tip! You can also use ‘Ctrl-click’ to select multiple workgroups at the same time.
Employees
This section works similarly to the Workgroups section, except it is used to select individual employees.
Submit / Cancel
These buttons allow you to either submit or cancel the entries you have made and return to the ‘Room Booking User Groups’ page.
When you have added all the members of the group, press ‘Submit’ and it will create the new Room Booking User Group.

Once you have created at least one Room Booking User Group, you will then have the option to edit or delete groups. Clicking the ‘Delete’ button will delete the group listed in that row. Clicking the ‘Edit’ button will take you to the Room Booking User Group Details page for the group listed on that row.

