< All Topics
Print

Leave Visibility

Leave Visibility allows you to define groups of users that are visible to a particular user even though they may be in different workgroups and not normally visible to that user.

Creating and managing Leave Visibility groups is available to Administrators from ‘Settings’ on the main menu. Select the ‘Leave Visibility’ sub menu. If no groups have been defined, you can create a new group by clicking the ‘New Leave Visibility User Group’.

The ‘Leave Visibility User Group Details’ page has five sections. We will now examine each section and it’s associated settings in detail to allow you to configure the Leave Visibility User Group correctly from the page. As you will see, you can add all the members of a workgroup or individual users as required to create whatever user group you need.

Group Name

This is a required field which allows you to enter a name for the user group.

Visible to

This setting allows you to select the user who will gain visibility of the user group from a drop-down list. Once created the user group will be available to this user and administrators only.

Workgroups

This section has two scrolling panes listing the available workgroups and a vertical navigation bar between them. To add all the members of a workgroup to the group, select a workgroup in the left hand pane and then click the right arrow to move it to the right hand pane. Alternately, to remove a workgroup from the group, select a workgroup in the right hand pane and move it to the left hand pane by clicking the left arrow. Clicking the double left or double right arrow moves all the entries from one pane to the other. Tip! You can also use ‘Ctrl-click’ to select multiple workgroups at the same time.

Employees

This section works in a similar way to the Workgroups section except it is used to select individual employees.

Submit / Cancel

These buttons allow you to either submit or cancel the entries you have made and return to the ‘Leave Visibility Groups’ page.

When you have added all the member of the workgroup press ‘Submit’ and the new Leave Visibility Group will be created.

Once you have created at least one Leave Visibility Group, you will then have the option to edit or delete groups. Clicking the ‘Delete’ button will delete the group listed on that row. Clicking the ‘Edit’ button will take you to the Leave Visibility User Group Details page for the group listed on that row.

Leave visibility groups can be used to filter which events are visible on LeaveWizard. For example, on the leave by month calendar chart, you can choose just members of the leave visibility group rather than all users or members of a specific workgroup. In the workgroup drop down selection box, leave visibility groups are designated by (LV) appended to the group name to differentiate them from actual workgroups.

If you select a leave visibility user group then only members of that group will be displayed on the calendar.

Table of Contents