How can we help you today?
< All Topics
Print

Restricted Periods

Event restriction periods allow you to define periods of time when the total number of users throughout the organisation or in a certain workgroup / custom group can be off at the same time. Although you can still restrict the number of users off at the same time per workgroup, location or even the entire organisation elsewhere on LeaveWizard, using Event Restriction Periods and Leave Restriction Groups (seeĀ Restrictions 1 – Leave Restrictions) are now the recommended way to achieve this.

Creating and managing Event Restriction Periods is available to Administrators from ‘Settings’ on the main menu. Select the ‘Restricted Periods’ sub menu. If no restricted periods have been defined, you can create a new restricted period by clicking the ‘New Leave Restriction Period’ button.

The ‘Event Restriction Period Details’ page has the following fields and settings to set up the restricted period:

Name

This is a required field which allows you to enter a name for the restricted period.

Applies To

This setting allows you to select the users that this restricted period will apply to from a drop down box. The choices are Entire Organisation, WorkGroup or CustomGroup. When either WorkGroup or CustomGroup is chosen an extra setting is created to enter the desired group name.

Workgroup

This setting only appears when WorkGroup is selected for the ‘Applies to’ field and allows the workgroup to be selected. For your convenience a link ‘Add New Workgroup’ is also provided to create a new workgroup if required.

User Group

This setting only appears when CustomGroup is selected for the ‘Applies to’ field and allows the custom group to be selected. For your convenience a link ‘Add New Custom Group’ is also provided to create a new custom group if required.

Start Date

This field allows you to enter a start date for the restricted period. You can also click the calendar icon to open a calendar popup to enter the date.

End Date

This field allows you to enter a end date for the restricted period. You can also click the calendar icon to open a calendar popup to enter the date.

Maximum Staff On Leave

This field allows you to enter the maximum number of users that can be off at the same time during this period.

Submit / Cancel

These buttons allow you to either submit or cancel the entries you have made and return to the ‘Event Restriction Periods’ page.

When you have completed your entries, press ‘Submit’ and the new event restriction period will be created.

Once you have created at least one event restriction period, you will then have the option to edit or delete restricted periods. Clicking the ‘Delete’ button will delete the period listed on that row. Clicking the ‘Edit’ button will take you to the Event Restriction Period Details page for the period listed on that row.

Table of Contents