Restricting The Visibility Of Users And Events
Companies have varying requirements regarding restricting the visibility of users and events. Although some want all users to see the availability of their colleagues, others prefer to hide information selectively. With LeaveWizard, you can control which colleagues a user can see and if they can see their allowances and events for each leave and absence type.
Restricting The Visibility Of Users
Normally, all users can see all other users in the company on their leave calendars and elsewhere. A common first level of restriction is to restrict users from seeing members outside their work group. You can do this using the ‘Users can only see their leave or members of their work group/custom groups’ setting. You can then use custom groups and leave visibility groups, if required, to allow certain users to see users outside their work group.
The next level is to restrict users to see only their leave, although allowing approving managers to see the leave of those they approve. This can be done with the ‘Users can only see their own leave or leave for those they directly approve’ setting.
Both settings are on the Company Settings page. Select ‘Company Settings’ from ‘Configuration’ on the main menu and navigate to the ‘Restrictions’ section. Administrators are unaffected by these settings and can see all users.
Restricting The Visibility Of Events
LeaveWizard supports adjusting the visibility of each event type independently. You can do this by changing the settings in the Visibility section of the event details page. To access that page, highlight the event type on the Event Types and Allowances page. Then either click the ‘Edit’ button on the sub-menu or right click the event type and select ‘Edit…’ from the pop-up menu.
The controls allow adjusting visibility by LeaveWizard role, Administrator, Manager or Employee. The Event Types In Depth article covers these settings and has examples of how the visibility changes when you change the settings.