< All Topics
Print

How To Restrict Users From Editing Events

Some companies may want to restrict users from editing events of certain types. Normally, they can edit requests until they expire. If the event needs approval, then the system will cancel the original approval, if it exists, and send the new edited event for approval. The approver will receive an ‘Event has been re-submitted’ email. This may not always be desirable. So LeaveWizard provides the option to stop users from editing requests for selected event types.

If you want to change this default behaviour, then un-tick the ‘Can employees edit leave?’ tick-box in the Other Options section of the Leave Type Details page for the event type. To access that page, highlight the event type on the Event Types and Allowances page. Then either click the ‘Edit’ button on the sub-menu or right click the event type and select ‘Edit…’ from the pop-up menu.

A screenshot showing the 'Can employees edit leave?' tick-box in the Other Options section of the Leave Type Details page which can restrict users from editing events.

After you un-tick the box, managers and employees cannot edit requests of that event type. However, as an administrator, you will continue to be allowed to edit all requests. But, if you want to edit an expired request, cancel the original request and replace it with a new one. This will ensure the system recalculates allowances correctly.

Table of Contents