Explanatory Notes
Managers and other users can upload explanatory notes to LeaveWizard from both the web app and the mobile app. They document extended absence. This article explains how you can upload and track them.
Recording And Tracking Explanatory Notes
An administrator can make explanatory notes for managers and other users required if the duration of an event reaches a certain limit. When a user records an event, if the duration reaches or exceeds that limit, the system will display the message:
‘* Please note that this event is for x or more days and it will require an explanatory note to be uploaded’
Where x is the number of days. For event types based on hours, the message will be:
‘* Please note that this event is for x or more hours and it will require an explanatory note to be uploaded’
If an event requires an explanatory note which the user has not yet uploaded, then the system will mark the event as ‘Explanatory Note required’ on the ‘Leave and Absence Requests’ page.

If someone uploads an explanatory note, the system will mark the event as ‘Explanatory Note uploaded’. You can view it by editing the request.

Uploading Explanatory Notes
When someone records an absence for a user, the system emails them. It also messages their web app inbox (‘Envelope’ icon) and adds a notification (‘Bell’ icon) to their mobile app. When the event requires an explanatory note, it will have the words ‘…you’re required to upload an Explanatory Note’ in the subject name and ‘You are required to submit an explanatory note for this event’ in the message. The message will have a ‘Click here to upload one’ link to allow the user to upload an explanatory note.

When a user clicks on the web app link, it will take them to the ‘Upload an Explanatory Note’ page.

They can then either drag ‘n’ drop or select a file. It supports the most popular image file formats, including jpg and png.

On the mobile app it gives the option to ‘Take a picture’ or ‘Upload from device’.

They can also upload the explanatory note by editing the recorded absence.

Once the user has uploaded an explanatory note, they can view it or replace it with a new one.

